Ginger Simple Syrup

7 Jul

I made some ginger simple syrup and it was so easy! I used this recipe from Joy the Baker, which she got from Imbibe.

You take equal amounts of pulverized or finely chopped ginger and granulated sugar, add them to three times as much water (I used 4 c. each of ginger and sugar with 12 c. water) and simmer for at least an hour. I had to simmer longer to reduce the liquid more, maybe because I was doing such a big batch.

My favorite thing about this recipe is that you can leave the ginger unpeeled! I also have to say that I do not use my food processor often, but when I do, I appreciate it SO MUCH.

Once the syrup has cooled, strain it through a sieve or a cheesecloth. I used a sieve and it worked great, even with the ginger pulverized.

I ended up with about 5 cups of dark, murky syrup. Yum.

Homemade ginger ale is so delicious! We used 2 TB of the ginger syrup in club soda with a large squeeze of lime.

I have a lot more ideas for this stuff: make Pimm’s cups, put it on ice cream, maybe bake with it. In the fall, it would be great for fruit compotes. I love that you get a very spicy, fresh ginger flavor and you don’t have the fiber of the root. So great.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Ginger Simple Syrup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vietnamese Bun « Cakewalk New Orleans - July 15, 2011

    [...] of quickly-melting vanilla ice cream with ginger simple syrup and a piece of candied ginger. Very [...]

  2. Chai Spice Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing and Candied Almonds « Cakewalk New Orleans - August 23, 2011

    [...] this, but I had my first big recipe experiment fail! I tried making ginger cream cheese icing with ginger simple syrup, but the ginger flavor was not coming through at all. The icing was getting watery, so I tried [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

