Red Beans and Rice

19 Dec

I’m a recent convert to Camilla brand red beans. I don’t know why, but they are creamier than other red beans when they are all cooked up. Now that I love them, I don’t think I’d even make red beans and rice if I didn’t have them. You can mail order them from the company!

I got this “Real Cajun,” “certified Cajun” andouille sausage that was “prepared the Cajun way!” But I’m certified too wussy, because it’s a bit hot for me. So sad. I’m just a sucker for any kind of packaging that has some lady’s picture on it. (see also: Mama Lucia pizza in St. Louis) Uber bonus if she has a bouffant hairdo.

Anyhoo, I use the Joy of Cooking recipe that I modify a bit; I don’t usually use ham hocks.

Red Beans and Rice!

1 c. celery, finely chopped

1 c. onion, finely chopped

1 c. green bell pepper, finely chopped

2 tsp chopped garlic

1 TB olive oil

2 bay leaves

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. dried oregano

1 tsp. ground white pepper (or black pepper)

1/2 tsp. ground red pepper (or to taste)

8 c. water

1 pound red beans (about 2 cups)

1 pound smoked andouille or smoked kielbasa sausage

-saute celery, onion, bell pepper and garlic in oil until soft

-add spices, stir

-add water and beans, bring to boil.

-reduce heat and simmer, covered,  until beans are tender, maybe 2 hours.

-slice sausage diagonally and add to beans

-serve over rice

If you want to use ham hocks, simmer 2 in the water with everything but the beans until tender, about 1 hour. Remove those before adding the beans, let cool and add the meat when you add the sausage.

I like to cook it until about half the beans fall apart. This picture is the stage when the liquid is starting to thicken, maybe about halfway to being done. Stir it a lot toward the end, and add some water as needed.

Happy Monday! Beans and rice for you!

Leave a Reply

