After Dark Magazine: Covers

31 Jan

At an estate sale years ago, I bought a small stack of After Dark magazines from the 1970s. The cover states it is “The National Magazine of Entertainment.” It’s pretty clear the intended audience was the swingin’-ist, clubin’-ist, pop-culture-lovin’-ist gay and straight people of the time. I’m glad I don’t remember if I bought all of them at that sale, because if I knew I had left any, I’d have to deal with the regret now.

I am declaring this my After Dark Week, with a new post every day. To get started, here are some cover scans:

5 Responses to “After Dark Magazine: Covers”

  1. julie February 1, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    That Andy Gibb cover is sublime.

  2. missbhavens February 2, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I don’t know who Joseph Bottoms is but I bet he went far with a name like that.

    There seems to be something wrong with Andy Gibb’s Head…and pants. One is too big, the other to small.

    • cakewalkneworleans February 2, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

      His name is perfect, right?

      Andy Gibb looks awesome, but also squinched up.

  3. Woody McBreairty April 8, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    I attended the awards ceremony when Mae West was presented with the Ruby Award in the early 1970s at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel. I keep looking for picture of that specific event but can’t find any. I took 2 pictures myself which I still have, but was hoping to see others.

    • cakewalkneworleans April 10, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      Woody, I don’t think that is in any of the After Dark issues I have, but I will do a quick check soon. What an event that must have been!

Leave a Reply

