Red Velvet Recipe Showdown: Part Deux!

25 Mar

I must admit that one of the things I look for in red velvet cake is a distinct chocolatiness, and perhaps for traditionalists, that shouldn’t be a very pronounced flavor. But to each their own, right? And on with the showdown!

So I tried the recipe for red velvet that I saw on wit and whistle – they got it from allrecipes.com – that called for more cocoa than a lot of recipes I’ve seen. I wanted to compare this one to Megan B.’s amped-up red velvet cupcake recipe that I tried in my original red velvet recipe showdown.

The verdict is: Megan B.’s amped-up red velvet still holds the #1 spot! It’s moist and light and the most chocolatey of the bunch. Dee-licious.

So I guess I’m stuck buying red cocoa for the amped-up version, but if I can find some Hershey’s special dark cocoa, I’ll give that a whirl in some red velvet. My friend made chocolate icing with the special dark and it was so brown it was almost black. Look for a red velvet recipe showdown: part trois! in the future. Megan B.’s recipe is looking hard to beat in my book.

One Response to “Red Velvet Recipe Showdown: Part Deux!”

  1. Megan B. March 28, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    WOOT! I’m delighted it holds up! I need an occasion to make these again. Thanks for the love, and for coming over to Shelterrific!

Leave a Reply

