Strawberry Shortcake

6 Apr

Louisisanna strawberries are everywhere, and though I usually don’t make strawberry shortcake until summer, I realized that’s just a habit related to midwestern strawberry availability. Or I should say, lack of availability.

So the other day I made some. The biscuit recipe I use is so easy because you don’t have to cut any fat into the flour, instead, you just use some of the heavy cream you already bought to make your whipped cream! Because you do whip some cream right? It’s easy, and it tastes about 80 million times better than anything else.

I got this biscuit recipe so long ago, and I have no idea where it’s from:

2 c. flour

TB baking powder

3 TB sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/4 c. heavy cream

Mix the dry ingredients together, then stir in the cream until just blended.

You can roll out to about 1/2″ thick and cut out circles OR just divide your dough and make flattened discs. I do the latter, and make 8.

Brush the tops of the biscuits with milk; I put a little milk in a bowl and use my fingers. Put on an ungreased sheet and bake at 425 for about 15 min. The end!

Louisianna strawberries tend to not be super sweet, so I often add a bit of sugar. This time, I had some mint simple syrup, thanks to a friend who gave me a giant bunch of mint and another friend who had the idea. We used this recipe.

The strawberries were so good with the mint syrup, and I bet it would be just as good if you chopped the mint very fine and tossed it in with the berries.

Won’t be the last time I make strawberry shortcake this year, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

