French Quarter Fest, a Visit From My Mother-in-Law, My Birthday and a Virus

16 Apr

These are the main reasons I haven’t written in so long. And work of course. Pesky day job!

I had not been a big fan of French Quarter Fest, but then, I had only ever tried to go on a weekend day. This year, they added Thursday. There were no lines at the food booths, and plenty of places to sit, even in the shade.

I wanted to try Muriel’s goat cheese crepe with crawfish sauce and Boucherie’s roast beef po’ boy with pickled red onions with horseradish sauce. Both were great! We spent almost all our time at the stage with the more traditional brass jazz bands, including the Preservation Hall Jazz Band. I would have gone back with Adam and his mom and given Friday a try if I hadn’t been working that day.

I didn’t do a lot for my birthday this year because I was sick with a cold. It was a bit of a bummer because I really do love the idea of a new year, be it a calendar year or the start of a new age for me. Though I love fresh starts and thinking about goals and all, it’s hard to feel excited and gung-ho when you are tired and congested.

But no real complaints from me. I’ve got some things in mind that I’m excited about, the weather has been fine and I’m back to feeling good!

Today I am freezing raspberries which I got for a steal at 25 cents for each 6 oz container. Later, we may go to a movie. I’m gearing up for a very work-intensive week next week, so I’m just happy to be taking it easy.

Leave a Reply

