Huevos Rancheros

16 May

I suppose this is one of those dishes where everyone who loves it has a particular way they want it. Me, I gotta have black beans and avocado. I’m flexible on the sauce or salsa as long as it’s good. Oh, and cheese, please.

In the past, I’ve just used good salsa from a jar, which works fine, but I wanted to try this recipe I got from Epicurious. It’s yummy, but next time I think I’ll increase the chipotle and adobo. I made a double recipe and froze half of it for later.

  • 2 (14- to 15-ounce) cans whole tomatoes in juice
  • 1/2 cup chopped white onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro plus additional for sprinkling
  • 1 tablespoon chopped canned chipotle chiles in adobo
  • 2 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Purée tomatoes with their juice, onion, cilantro, chipotle, garlic, and salt in a blender until very smooth. Carefully add mixture to hot skillet (it may spatter) and simmer, stirring occasionally, until salsa is slightly thickened, about 10 minutes.

Then heat the corn tortillas on a low gas burner. Layer the sauce, tortillas, black beans, fried eggs, cheese, avocado, and sour cream if you want. I had some chopped cilantro ready for my plate, but I was so hungry, I forgot it!

Leave a Reply

