Blackened Redfish

13 Jun

Our pal caught a giant redfish on her birthday, which she called her “birthday present from God.” She shared some with us, and I figured I better blacken that old Louisiana fish.

I used this recipe, but because we don’t have a kitchen fan, I was afraid of using the cast iron pan and all that butter. Instead, I used a regular pan and only 1 TB of butter with 1 TB of canola oil, all to decrease the smoke factor. The fish didn’t have a crisp crust, but it was really delicious.

I served it with some green beans I got at the farmer’s market. I left those plain, which was nice with the spicy, buttery fish.

If anyone else wants to give me some fish they caught, I’m all over it!

Leave a Reply

