I’m Excited About: Skin Care, Sons of Anarchy, Ruffles

10 Jul

1. I started a new skin care regimen today. To be honest, I didn’t have a regimen before, so I’m hoping I see a noticeable improvement. I have a pretty good complexion, but it’s been less smooth in the last few years, and I wouldn’t mind some of that going away.

It’s a simple and inexpensive regimen. You need castor oil, a carrier oil and a washcloth you don’t mind getting oily. I chose grapeseed oil as my carrier oil because on the bottle it said it’s good for balancing oily skin, and mine can get pretty oily in the summer. The friend who told me about this process said you have to experiment with the ratio of carrier to castor oil, but I started with 2:1, which she said works for her. The castor oil can be drying.

You rub the oil all over your face and let it sit for a couple minutes. Then you lay a warm washcloth over your face for a minute, and after that wipe the oil off your face. The oil pulls the dirt and all the bad stuff off your face and moisturizes your skin at the same time. I’m going to try it faithfully for a month and see how it goes.

ETA: I should’ve known there was a website for the oil cleansing method. I’ve been not quite doing it right, but after a week, it seems to be working well.

2. I’ve been watching the TV series Sons of Anarchy. I had seen season one, but season two is even better, I think. I stopped myself today with 3 episodes left, just so it will last a little longer.

3. I sewed a ruffle for the first time today! It always seemed like such a fussy process, cutting the long strip of fabric and all, but I wanted to add one to the bottom of the skirt I was making for my niece. She picked out the fabric and the rainbow ric rac, and I love her choices. She was sad and I was glad there was no Justin Bieber fabric.

I also made a skirt for her doll.

I can’t wait to use ruffles on other projects! It’s such a good feeling to be getting more advanced in my sewing. I only learned zippers a year or two ago, and those take you to another sewing zone- the zipper zone. It’s major. Ruffles aren’t quite the same, but they sure are fun.

4. This yogurt smoothie I’m about to drink that has peaches, honey and mint. It’s 3/4 c. greek yogurt, 2 small peaches, 1 tsp. honey and a few mint leaves. Can you see the little green bits? My friend once served me sliced peaches tossed with a little honey and chopped mint, so that gave me the idea.

Yum.

Leave a Reply

