Lovin’ on St Louis. NOLA, too.

3 Aug

I grew up in St. Louis and I miss it something fierce. I was just there a couple months ago, but it’s got a place in my heart always.

The Hi Fi Fo Fum store mascot! How can he not make you happy?

One of the things I love is the look of it- big trees, brick buildings, wide streets. I didn’t realize how deep the history of brick was in the city, and I hope one day I’m able to see the movie Brick by Chance and Fortune. Here’s the trailer:

When Adam went to buy bricks here in New Orleans, he said they were piled on different pallets, labeled by city: Detroit, St. Louis, etc. It broke my heart a little, because I had been reading about brick theft through the blog Preservation Research Office and others.

On a happier note, I’ve become fascinated by a residential architectural style called the flounder house. It’s fairly rare, apparently, but St. Louis has some. (And so does New Orleans, but I have yet to see any.) It’s hard to describe what it is; better you should check out this post from Preservation Research Office with lots of pictures. I love these quirky elements of our history!

I love progress and change, but there is so much to lose when we don’t take preservation into account. New is not always better. So often, it’s worse. There is a feeling I get from things with history; it’s a feeling that goes straight to my core, almost like a romantic love. Buildings, clothing, dishes. It feels like a connection to people in the past, to a different time. I used to think everyone felt it; I was sad to figure out that isn’t so.

For me, it isn’t about a certain time period. I love the ancient warehouses down by the river bank and the midcentury ranch houses in the suburbs. I love it all. I’ve been wanting to do these self-guided tours of midcentury modern buildings put together by modernstl.com. I’ve also been wanting to visit the Metairie Cemetery down here. St. Louis and New Orleans hold endless treasures, and I want to know everything about them.

Leave a Reply

