I’m Excited About: Quotes, a Tiny Bag, the Beach

8 Aug

1. A few New Yorker magazines ago, there was an article about Jaron Lanier, a kind of technology guru-guy. I really liked some of his ideas, and they’ve been popping into my head now and then.

He said, “The thing about technology is that it’s made the world of information ever more dominant, and there’s so much loss in that. It really does feel as if we’ve sworn allegiance to a dwarf world rather than to a giant world.”

And the article goes on to say that Lanier “complains that technology has taken over our lives but that it has not given us enough back in return. In place of a banquet, we’ve been given a vending machine.”

Now, on my days off, I like to wake up slowly. I make a cup of coffee and fool around online for at least an hour and often longer. I watch some TV or movies pretty much everyday online, too. And I’m happy with all that, for the most part. I like all that stuff and I don’t feel the need to give it up.

On the other hand, I have been working on making things in a more regular way, and I’ve been getting so much satisfaction from that! I just want to keep making sure that I balance out what I consider passive things with active things. A vacation from my laptop…I don’t know about that. Maybe someday it would be a good experiment.

2. Oh, the zippered bags! They never stop! I made this small one with a 4″ zipper for my earbuds. I used some of my favorite vintage barkcloth.

3. I’m also excited that Adam and I took a day trip to the beach in Mississippi. It feels so good to get a change of scenery! And sadly, some of my summers have gone by without a single one, even though you can get there in about an hour. They may not be the greatest beaches in the world, but geez. It’s still the beach!

Shelby Lee loves to go swim, dig in the sand, stalk birds, etc. She entertains me. And my sun umbrella is one of the best things I’ve ever purchased.

2 Responses to “I’m Excited About: Quotes, a Tiny Bag, the Beach”

  1. John Cooper August 9, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Shelby looks very sweet and golden.

Leave a Reply

