Hollygrove Produce Box

10 Aug

I’m a pretty recipe-driven cook as opposed to an improvisational cook. I give myself credit for being able to pick good recipes, to tweak recipes, or to combine recipes. And while I’m not a picky eater in the sense that I don’t like a lot of foods, I do have strong preferences of how I like dishes or what I like paired together.

I’m OK with that, and I’m usually happy with what I make, but I’d like to move a little bit towards the improvisational end. Be a little more creative, a little more seasonal.

I always thought that getting a produce box would not only get me high quality produce, but would nudge me into some new combinations or new foods. And this week’s Hollygrove Market and Farm box looked so great, I finally bought one!

Peaches, tomatoes, limes, green peppers, eggplant, lima beans, sunflower sprouts, Cajun grain rice, button mushrooms and chanterelle mushrooms! Yum! I like all that stuff.

I’m trying to keep things fairly simple, so last night I sauteed both kinds of mushrooms and made a mushroom and swiss omlette. No hot oven! I was so hungry and tired after work, I didn’t take a picture. Nom.

Leave a Reply

