Shrimp Remoulade

30 Aug

A few years ago, a friend gave me some homemade tarragon vinegar. In my search for recipes that called for it, I found this one for shrimp remoulade. I don’t know where I got it, so I can’t give credit where it’s due, sorry!

Remoulade sauce has many, many variations, and while the Louisiana kind can be either oil- or mayonnaise-based, it usually has paprika. It is most often served with shrimp, but it also works with crab cakes, fried green tomatoes, hard boiled eggs, or fish.

For me, this simple cold shrimp salad is the perfect summer dinner. And though I make my own tarragon vinegar now, I’ve seen it in the grocery store, so you don’t have to!

Shrimp Remoulade

2 TB Creole (brown) mustard, preferably Zatarain’s

1 TB paprika

1/2 tst cayenne

2 1/2 tsp salt

1/4 c tarragon vinegar

1/2 c olive oil

3/4 c chopped scallions, including 2-3 inches of the green tops

1/4 c minced celery

1/4 c chopped flat-leaf parsley

3 pounds raw medium shrimp

romaine lettuce

Sauce:

Whisk together the mustard, paprika, cayenne and salt in a deep bowl

Beat in the vinegar

Whisking constantly, pour the oil in a slow, thin stream and beat until smooth and thick

Add the scallions, celery, and parsley and mix well

Cover and let rest at room temperature for at least 4 hours

Shrimp:

Shell and devein the shrimp

Rinse under cold water

Bring 2 quarts of water to a simmer in a large pot (add a little salt if you want)

Drop the shrimp in the water and cook uncovered for 3-5 minutes until pink and firm

Drain, let cool, then chill the shrimp until ready to serve

Assemble:

Mound the torn lettuce on individual plates

Arrange the shrimp on top, spoon some sauce on top and serve immediately

I use about 2-4 TB sauce for each salad, so you will probably have some left over. I like to let the leftovers come to room temperature before using.

2 Responses to “Shrimp Remoulade”

  1. butterflymusings September 15, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    omg that looks great!!!

  2. indigocarmine October 20, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    I want this in my facehole.

Leave a Reply

